Why I Dont Ever Watch The News


New Crib, watch a movie…cause aint nothin on the news but the blues…

Kanye West-Murder to Excellence

This lyric stood out to me.  I used to watch the news all of the time. I had to know what was going on in the world. I’d even get in the car and put it on the FM news radio station.

This was during the economy crunch and I worked for Monster.com at the time.  My job was tied directly to the economy so I felt it was my obligation to keep my finger on the pulse of what was happening around me.

The flip side to this is that I was always worried.  There is nothing on the news but bad news. Everything, all bad…

If you don’t believe me, watch the first three minutes of your local news and peep all of the negative stories out there.

Yeah, needless to say, I had a worrisome and negative vibe about me.  It wasn’t until I took the advice of a reputable sales trainer some years back that watching the news on tv is a total time waster.

Think about it, if you spend 30 minutes to an hour a day watching the news, it adds up to a lot of wasted time.  Don’t get me wrong, I still keep up with what’s in the world via the internet.  The thing is I get my news and go.

Also, this allows me to choose what I want to watch and see.  There is nothing wrong with watching the news, I mean it’s out there because it’s happening. My point is, don’t waste your time watching the downer TV news broadcasts when you could be doing something much more productive.

Come to think of it, I watch very, very little television, outside of Yo Gabba Gabba.  Something to think about…

-Kreedos

About Kreedos

We are talented Visual and Performing artists.
This entry was posted in Business, HipHop, Motivational, Performance, Positivity, Television and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

